March 2014 in Review

I don’t know about you guys, but March completely FLEW by for me! I kept thinking March had just started and then the next thing I knew it was almost April!

I had a super busy month in school, and because of that I didn’t get as many MV reviews done as I would have like. Sorry. 😦

It was an interesting month. There were a lot of comebacks, but except for 2NE1, I feel like no one really got excited about anything. I think there were some really good songs that came out this month, a lot of which are incredibly underrated. I’ll be talking about a few of those in this post. Here are some of the videos that came out this month that I didn’t get a chance to review:

2NE1 “Come Back Home”

Come Back Home

  • Song: 4/5
  • Video – Story: 4.5/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4.5/5
  • Wardrobe: 5/5

I admit, I really didn’t like this at first. After a couple times listening to the song and watching the video however, I’ve grown to really appreciate it. What turned me off initially was the song. It’s amazing and I love it, except for the bass drop after the chorus, where they repeat “Come baby baby come come baby baby.” It totally interrupts a really good song with a sound that is just slow and repetitive to me. The story is also one that seems nonsensical on the first watch, but it’s actually pretty deep and meaningful. What I got from it: 2NE1 create this drug that can make a person feel like they are in a “virtual paradise” and Dara’s boyfriend becomes addicted to it, preferring it over reality. 2NE1 see the harm they caused, so they go into the virtual reality and destroy it from the inside. It’s like K-pop’s version of The Matrix. I just wish the ending wasn’t so abrupt.

Overall Final Score: 4.5/5

Orange Caramel “Catallena”

orange caramel

  • Song: 4/5
  • Video – Story: 4/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 5/5
  • Wardrobe: 3.5/5
  • Dance: 3.5/5

I knew it! When I heard this song for the first time, I thought “This sounds a lot like Bollywood music…” then I read the description and saw that the song is inspired from a Pakistani song. I know my people’s music when I hear it. 😛 (My family is from India)

Anyway, this is a cute video. The sushi concept is really creative, and I think the story could be symbolic of how the public just wants more and more to consume while the stars feel like they themselves are being eaten. I’m not a huge fan of this bizarre style that Orange Caramel (and Crayon Pop) have been doing, but they pulled it off pretty well with this video. The song is really catchy too!

Overall Final Score: 4/5

100% “Beat”

100percent

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Video – Story: 3.5/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4.9/5
  • Wardrobe: 4/5
  • Dance: 5/5

I was surprised at this comeback. Both the song and dance are amazing! The dance is amazing. The members move as one body in a way that is so interesting to watch. The song has such a powerful chorus that captivates me every time. There was a pretty cool story in this with a dramatic ending, but it was told in such a delayed way. It felt like nothing happened until the last minute of the video. I was also really disappointed with the wardrobe. Most of the outfits are amazing, but 100%’s stylists failed again to understand that showing more skin doesn’t look cool, it looks desperate for attention. That girl’s outfit was just disgusting in my opinion. If it weren’t for her outfit and the pointless shirtlessness, I would have given the wardrobe a perfect score.

Overall Final Score: 4.4/5

APink “Mr. Chu”

apink

  • Song: 4.5/5
  • Video – Story: 2.9/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 4/5
  • Wardrobe: 4.5/5
  • Dance: 3/5

APink is just so cute. This was an adorable video. I do think certain parts were overly cute, but overall I found it entertaining. The girls of APink follow a tennis team, buying present after present for their favorite players, and they end up overflowing the athlete’s locker with all of their presents. It was like APink’s version of SNSD’s “Oh!” which is one of my favorite k-pop music videos. More than the story, I loved the wardrobe in this video. The pink dresses were so pretty and suit their style perfectly. This comeback isn’t as good as “NoNoNo,” but it’s still cute and fun. The members’ acting has improved in this one.

Overall Final Score: 3.8/5

M.I.B “Chisa Bounce”

mib

  • Song: 4.9/5
  • Video – Cinematography: 3/5
  • Wardrobe: 2.5/5

I may have given this video lower scores, but do not let the numbers deceive you. I really like this video. It may not be the most entertaining thing in the world to watch, because frankly there isn’t a whole lot going on, but the song and lyrics make it worthwhile. I recommend watching an English-subbed version of the video because any description I give of the lyrics won’t do it justice. It’s kind of like Topp Dogg’s “Arario” where they rap about being genuine rappers in the middle of fake K-pop. They make references to their previous music video which is always fun. The above picture is another reason why I love this video. Kangnam is just chilling with an umbrella, singing and rapping like it’s nobody’s business. (SJ reference: It reminds me of Super Show 2 when Leeteuk randomly shows up holding an umbrella)

Overall Final Score: 3.6/5

I usually don’t talk about Chinese or Japanese videos on this blog, but there were a couple comebacks  that I loved more than any of the Korean videos that were released this month: Super Junior M’s “Swing” and Boyfriend’s “My Avatar.” My fangirling feels were raised to a dangerous level with these two videos. (I’ve never fangirled at Boyfriend before, but I think this may be their best music video. MINWOO!)

Yesss! This is the most on-time I have ever been with any blog post. 😛

I had to be on time with this one though. Starting tomorrow, I can’t afford to be late on posts because I’ll be doing Blogging from A to Z! I can’t wait to share my posts with you all. Throughout the month I’ll be pretty much summing up my whole K-pop life. Keep an eye out for my first post tomorrow starting with the letter A!


QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Any thoughts on “Come Back Home” you have that are different from mine? I was a bit rushed while writing this, so I’m sure there’s more to the story that I didn’t get.

What are your thoughts?

