Ladies’ Code “So Wonderful” Music Video Review

This is a complete 180 from their previous music video. I actually really like this one!

Song

This is a pretty fair song. I have to admit, there is not anything in here to make me really love it though. The singing is nice and the song has a refreshing feel to it (that’s the best way I can describe it). Me being me, I really like the fast singing before the final chorus. The chorus is a bit repetitive, but overall if you can get past that, it’s a pretty nice song to listen to.

Score: 4/5

Video – Story

If it was based on the song alone, I wouldn’t have gone out of my way to review this video, however the story totally makes it worthwhile. The girls of Ladies Code tell the story of a man who doesn’t see them as anything more than a doll for him to dress up. We see them completely frozen in front of him as he carefully looks over their makeup. In one scene, one of the girls tries to wave and get his attention, but when the scene shifts to his view, we witness that all he sees is a motionless, beautiful girl sitting in front of him. Even though they are actual people, he sees them as no different than his other mannequins. One of the girls evenladies3 has her arms completely broken off, but all he notices is her pretty face (I think this scene in particular can be symbolic of the fact that she may be emotionally broken inside, but he would never notice because all he cares about is that she is perfect on the outside). In the end, karma comes around to him and he finds himself becoming frozen. The girl with the broken arms comes to life and looks him in the eye, exactly how he looked at her, giving him a taste of his own medicine. I love how symbolic this story is of a very real relationship problem. My only complaint is that I wish we could have seen more of the girls’ emotions, especially in the end.

Score: 4.5/5

Video – Cinematography

ladies2There are some really nice images in this video. I love that in a lot of the scenes with the girls, there are mannequins around, implying that the ladies of Ladies’ Code are just like those lifeless mannequins in the man’s eyes. The image of one of the members without her arms is really powerful, making so vivid how he only cares about her pretty face and ignores her obvious wounds around that. It was bitterly sweet how that same girl stares back at him in the end, exactly how he would stare at her before. Also, the images of them wrapped in plastic only make that feeling even more vivid just how lifeless he sees them.

While there are really nice aspects to the cinematography, those images were very hard to see because the color tone of the video as a whole is really dark. I understand that it is a sad, dark concept, but making the video so physically dark takes away from the viewing experience. I also really wish there were more scenes of the story. It is a really good story, but it could have been so much better if more of it were told.

Score: 3.5/5

Wardrobeladies1

The dresses in this video are just okay, in my opinion. They are pretty plain for a video focused on beauty. The one outfit I really like is the black dress of the first girl who sings. From her makeup to her outfit to her hair, I think she looks amazing in this video. The rest of the girls look nice, but nothing else really stands out to me. The main dancing scene is a mix of cute dresses and just generic short dresses.

Score: 3.5/5

Dance

This dance is almost really good. I know, that sounds weird, but it perfectly describes how I see it. For a dance focused on mic stands, it’s not bad. They do little things around the mic stands that are appropriate for the pace of the song and interesting to watch. The best part for me is when they wave their thumbs up and down in the chorus. It’s almost as if they are questioning how “wonderful” the guy really is.

I was really impressed with how nice and innocent the dance is until the second chorus, when they start with the body rubs. Come on Ladies’ Code! I had so much faith in you until that point! Luckily, the body rubs are only in the chorus. Towards the last chorus, when they finally break away from the mic stands, the dance that they do is okay, but it definitely could be better. It’s their one chance to really showcase what they can do without the limitations of a mic stand, and they sort of blow it with simple bouncy moves.

Score: 3.9/5

Overall, I am fairly happy with this video. Even if it isn’t the best video out there, there are good aspects that make it stand out from other, more mediocre videos. Compared to “Pretty Pretty,” I find this video to be a million times better. I’m sorry, but I just could not get into that one.

Overall Final Score: 3.9/5

Question of the Day:

There have been a good number of dances involving a mic stand lately (SHINee, Mr.Mr, TVXQ sort of…). How do you think Ladies’ Code coped with the concept? Any dances using mic stands you would recommend? I generally don’t like them because it is just so hard to make a dance entertaining with a big stick in front of you, but maybe I just haven’t seen the right one.

What are your thoughts?

