Jonghyun and Chen Were Made for Each Other

Tell me I’m not the only one who’s been thinking this since EXO’s debut.

I am convinced the head honchos over at S.M Entertainment have been planning a duet between Jonghyun and Chen for years. But before we talk about that…

Let’s go back to 2012. After weeks of teaser after teaser of EXO’s upcoming debut, we finally got to hear the voices of these singers with their “prologue” song, “What is Love.” I start playing the Chinese version of the song:

The first thing I think: Hey, that black-haired guy sounds a lot like SHINee’s Jonghyun…

Now I’m no expert. To my untrained ear, they sounded similar, but whatever. On to the next K-pop video…

Then “History” came out. Then “Mama.” I was listening to my Pandora station, and “Machine” comes on:

Until I looked at the artist, I totally thought this was a SHINee song. Close your eyes. It sounds just like them.

SHINee was the first K-pop group I ever really got into, and Jonghyun is the first person who has ever made me think, Wow. He is an AMAZING singer. In my opinion, Jonghyun is one of the best vocalists in the world. Just listen to his voice. Seriously, listen to the whole thing. It just gets better and better as the song goes on.

Then came Chen. There are a few singers here and there who sound like each other, but the resemblance between Chen’s voice and Jonghyun’s is just too obvious to ignore. The more I hear Chen singing, the more I come to appreciate that he is a damn good singer. He can steadily hold a note for over 20 seconds and always hits the notes perfectly.Ā  (Chen is the one on the right, the second one to sing)

As if it wasn’t enough, EXO did a few covers of SHINee songs that led me to one conclusion: Chen is the lost son of Jonghyun. Just listen to EXO’s cover of SHINee’s “Lucifer.” (Chen starts singing at the 5:23 mark):

Compare it to the original Lucifer. Pretty similar, right?

Last year EXO did a cover of SHINee’s “Why So Serious.” When I saw this, I was convinced that Chen could totally slip into SHINee and no one would even notice. (Chen starts singing at the 0:33 mark):

Now listen to the original Why So Serious.

Ever since making this realization, I have been dying for Chen and Jonghyun to sing on the same stage together, just to hear what their beautiful voices would sound like side by side. I love Chen’s voice, and I just melt at Jonhyun’s. Just imagine the power duo together!

Then this was uploaded to SMTOWN’s YouTube channel:

THANK YOU, S.M.! Thankyouthankyouthankyou. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

S.M. Entertainment. We criticize them, ridicule them, and hate on them, but you have to admit it: sometimes they know what they’re doing. They can really pick their singers. I really hope these two continue to do duets together.

What do you guys think? Any other power duos I should know about? For the record, Ailee and Hyorin are my other favorite duo.

Sorry if the page took a while to load. I got a little video-crazy. If you made it this far, here is a little treat I found while looking up all of these videos. I promise, you won’t regret it:

šŸ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Jonghyun and Chen Were Made for Each Other

  1. Hahaha! Ohh Taemin…

    I could not agree with you more whole heartedly! After hearing Zhoumi and Yesung were going to be a part of The Ballad 2, the news that Jonghyun and Chen would sing together was just icing on the cake! It was probably the song I was anticipating the most and wow! was it amazing!

    Your question just launched me on a hour long exploration of you tube trying to find some of my favourite vocalists singing together, and while I did get a few amazing combined larger acts, sadly no duos! So Instead I’ll share this duo… kekeke

    [110709] Immortal Song 2 Hongki , Heechul ( no… by karlilais21

    Like

    1. Oooh, I’ve never seen this before. I knew Hongki and Heechul were friends, but I didn’t know they ever sang together. Their voices actually sound pretty good together! Thanks for sharing!

      I was so happy about Zhoumi being included. After Henry’s debut as a soloist, it felt like poor Zhoumi was all left out.

      Like

  2. I did an audible OH NOOOOO when I read the title. I thought it was something fanfic related. Way to capture my attention!
    And I absolutely agree, Jonghyun’s voice has such versatility; it can be powerful and it can be delicate (like in IU’s Gloomy Clock)
    Great post!

    Like

  3. I am not the only one who thinks Chen is JongHyun’s son! Actually I think he has a little of 2AM’s Changmin in him too. The similarities! This duet is amazing, buying the CD for that song alone!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

