Can’t Miss Songs and Dances of 2013

If you haven’t really kept up with K-pop this year, fear not! Here is a list of the Must-Listen-To Songs and Must-Watch Dances of 2013.

Now that you know where I stand on the best music videos of the year, it’s time to get to the heart of K-pop: the songs and dances.

It’s always a shame to find an amazing song that has a…well, terrible music video. It’s even more of a shame when a song actually has an amazing dance, but no one will watch it because the artist is not very popular. I’m here to fix that!

Let’s start with the songs. There were a lot of really great songs released this year, and I mean some really great songs. I have always thought 2010 was the best year for K-pop songs, but this year proved to be a contender. I originally had over 20 songs on this list; this year was just that good.

The first five are in order, starting with “A.D.T.O.Y” as my favorite. After that I put the rest in alphabetical order. Here is the playlist, and below I have the songs listed out:

  1. 2PM – A.D.T.O.Y.
  2. B.A.P – One Shot
  3. Shinhwa – This Love
  4. Mr.Mr – Do You Feel Me
  5. 9MUSES – Wild

What really makes K-pop different from mainstream Western music is the dances. In K-pop, simply singing doesn’t cut it. To be a real success in K-pop is to be able to perform truly amazing dances. As far as 2013 goes, there were definitely some really entertaining dances that came out, but I will say that this is not the best that K-pop has given us. I’m hoping that 2014 takes dance songs to a whole new level and brings us something fresh and fun to watch.

Same as with the songs, I’ll have my top five favorites first, and then the rest in alphabetical order:

  1. VIXX – hyde
  2. 100% – Want You Back
  3. Taeyang – RINGA LINGA
  4. VIXX – VOODOO DOLL
  5. EXO – Wolf

It has been one fun year. Let’s hope that 2014 is full of even more entertaining songs and dances. One thing I know for sure about K-pop, these songs and dances aren’t going anywhere. The best may be yet to come.

What are your thoughts?

