Yong Junhyung “Flower” Music Video Review

I have never heard Junhyung sing before, and I am IMPRESSED!

Song

I loved how low key and soft it was. The style of rapping was perfect for a song like this. I really liked when his voice started repeating in the rap. The chorus was really nice. The soft, high singing was great. I didn’t like the “Alright” in the beginning and a lot of the English was cringe-worthy, but it was still a really great song. I am impressed.

Score: 4.5/5

Story

He is in a coffin with the flowers, representing the death of their relationship. He wakes up in a desert, walks around, and sings about his flower. I’m guessing it is symbolic about how his girl is gone and he is now waking up from the aftermath of the breakup, realizing that his flowers are dead and gone. The story had the potential to be amazing if it had more of an ending. It started and looked like it was going somewhere, and then just stopped. They should have either continued it or cut it out altogether.

Score: 3.5/5

Cinematography

The imagery was so well done in this video. His head surrounded by flowers represents how even though the girl is gone (flowers separate from his body), he still is in love with her, thus his head is still among the flowers. All of the burning flowers symbolized the girl leaving, but having those objects melt to reveal a flower showed that he still thinks about her underneath the pain. Ending with the butterfly burning was perfect. Since he is the butterfly, it just makes the pain even more vivid. I love how the colors were there, but very muted, making the whole video resemble a dead flower. (The scene with the microphones was really random though.)

Score: 4.5/5

Wardrobe

I like the serious suits and the girls dresses. He looked serious and mournful, and the girl looked like a beautiful, but dead flower. Having all of that next to a dancing scene where he’s all pimped out with his crazy hip-hop outfit didn’t fit. I would have liked to see all dark, somber outfits. The one with all of those string hanging off of it and the white shirt with the hat just wasn’t appropriate for a video like this. Overall, it was more good than bad, but improvements definitely could have been made.

Score: 4/5

Dance

This was a really creative and well thought out dance. I loved the break dancing. It made a seemingly slow and simple dance much more entertaining. My favorite parts were the “You are so sweet, sweet, sweet” and “Still love you, Babe. I love you, Babe” parts. The movements were quick and dynamic. Everything fit the pace of the song really well without being boring. What is keeping me from giving this dance a perfect score is that I found some of the break dancing moves to be a bit awkward, especially the chorus where he sings “You are so deep, deep, deep.”

Score: 4.5/5

Overall, I was incredibly impressed with this music video. I never really gave Junhyung much thought, but he definitely caught my eye with this song. I am in love with his singing voice. I never knew he had it in him. The video itself was so artistic. They did a really good job with this.

Overall Final Score: 4.2/5


Question of the Day:

What was your favorite part in this video? There are so many artistic moments to choose from! I really like how the butterfly burned at the end. I didn’t expect that at all.

What are your thoughts?

