July 2013 – Part 3 (Kim Hyun Joong, B2ST, APink)

Here are the videos I missed from July! I feel bad that I didn’t get to write a full review for anything this past month, so these posts will basically just be mini reviews.  There will be four parts to this set of videos.  This is part 3.

Kim Hyun Joong “Unbreakable”

unbreak1

Song: THIS WAS AN AMAZING SONG! Hyun Joong and Jay Park’s voices went together so well.  The chorus was so good.  Amazing composition.  It felt like I was listening to the villain’s epic song in a movie.  My only complaint: Leading up to Jay Park’s rap could have been a little smoother and the fog horn was annoying.

Score: 4.9/5

Cinematography: Everything looked really cool. Changing the cars into the animal version was creative.  I didn’t get all the symbolism of the masks and bird, but it was still cool to look at.  Dedicating the entire ending of the video to Hyun Joong with no shirt was a step back though.

Score:  4/5

Wardrobe: I loved all of the outfits.  Hyun Joong’s main dancing outfit made him look so cool and on top of the world.  I love that the hood said “Unbreakable”.  Jay Park also looked very much like himself, like a rapper.  I loved everything except for the obvious lack of shirts at the end.

Score:  4.5/5

Dance: Most of it was amazing.  The beginning and chorus were very powerful, with all of the fists and punches.  I liked the rotation of the number of back-up dancers and the hat thing.  I thought the rap and the end was okay, but lost the precision and skill as the rest of the dance.

Score:  4/5

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5

B2ST “Shadow”

shadow

Song: I loved the chorus, the rap, and the lines leading up to the chorus, but the other verses could have had a little more rhythm.  I absolutely loved the repetition of “Shadow”! The whole song had a nice melody.

Score: 4/5

Story: She ventures into this dark place and meets an evil guy who turns her evil.  I like the concept of the story and how they were both dancing when they’re both evil.  I wish we could have seen more clearly exactly how she became evil.

Score: 4/5

Cinematography:  Everything looked very creepy, but sometimes it was overdone, like with the shapes and the random shots of skulls and snakes.  I liked the scenes with the guy and the girl and when both her good and evil self were shown.  The shots of the members were good and were cut to fit the rhythm of the song well.

Score: 3.5/5

Wardrobe:  The concept was really good, fit the theme, and fit their personal styles.  I loved the individual scene outfits and the white ones best.  The only ones I didn’t like were Dongwoon’s individual scene outfit and Hyunseung’s white outfit.  The girl’s dresses were also very appropriate for the story.

Score: 4.5/5

Dance:  My favorite part was during Doojoon’s part in the chorus.  The rest of it was pretty good too.  I liked the formation they all made during Dongwoon’s solo.  This wasn’t my favorite B2ST dance, but overall it was still a really good dance.

Score: 4/5

Overall Final Score:  4/5

APink “Secret Garden”

secretgarden

Song: The chorus had a nice melody, but the song as a whole was too sickeningly sweet.  I didn’t think it showcased their voices very well and didn’t really like it.  The ending also could have been better.

Score: 3/5

Cinematography:  They were pretty and the garden was pretty, but that got old after about ten seconds.  Nothing was happening; they weren’t even moving during the group shots.  I wish they could have actually been doing something in the garden. I found the video as a whole to be very boring.

Score: 1.5/5

Wardrobe: I really liked the outfits in the individual shots but not so much in the group scene at the entrance of the garden.  The lacy designs were nice and resembled the flowery garden theme.  The flower tiaras were a beautiful touch.  The other outfits were nice and white, but didn’t look especially good nor relate to the concept of the video as well as the other ones.

Score: 3.5/5

Overall Final Score: 2.7/5


Wanna talk K-pop? Follow me on Twitter @mystification86!

What are your thoughts?

