Boyfriend “On&On” Music Video Review

Song

This song was different from most of the songs I review, and that is because it is totally not my type of song.  It was a nice, light song, but it was too carefree in my opinion.  The rhythm of the verses was okay (I did like that there was a stop in the middle of each set of verses) but the chorus was way too repetitive for my liking.  It seemed like half of the song was just the repetition of “On and on and on and on and on…”  Because of the repetition and the way they were singing, it almost sounded like whining to me.  I much rather prefer the “Janus” and “I Yah” songs from Boyfriend.

Score: 2.5/5

Story

This story was simple, yet very fun.  It was just that: Boyfriend having fun.  This video shows little snippets of Boyfriend’s life, goofing around with each other, pulling bedroom pranks, and exploring a new city.  It showed how close the members are with each other and how they enjoy their time together.  I really enjoyed this.  It was a nice break from the super serious and dramatic storylines in a lot of K-pop videos.  Since the concept of the story is “fun” there isn’t a whole lot of development that can be put into the plot, but I do wish there could have been some kind of direction.  There were a bunch of mini stories, like the water fountain pranks, hanging around the hotel room, and playing outside, but there wasn’t one overall plot.

If they had introduced some kind of concept of time, like having day and then night fun, the story would have been a bit more developed, but as it is, it was still really enjoyable.

Score: 4.5/5

Cinematography

To fit the song and the story, the video looked very happy, fun, and colorful.  Many of the scenes took place outside, which is a great for such a Spring-sounding song.  I liked how there were such a variety of scenes in this, from the members laughing together to shots of the scenery to the members singing to the camera.  I enjoyed the moments when the members sang to the camera.  It was very engaging for the audience, bringing them into Boyfriend’s fun world.  The best moment in this video for me was the water fountain scene.  As the members tricked each other to getting splashed with water, we could hear them laughing, which made me so much more engaged in that scene.

I really didn’t like, however, how many of the scenes appeared so staged and forced.  During the hotel scene, the concept was good, but the “pranks” didn’t appear to be pranks at all.  Waking up one of the members by tickling his feet didn’t have the same effect as it would have if he was actually asleep and had no idea they were shooting a music video.  I wish there could have been more natural scenes like the water fountain scene.  When the members don’t appear natural, it makes the video much harder to enjoy.  If they had just made it more natural, the video would have been so much better.

Score: 3.5/5

Wardrobe

Overall, I really liked the concept for this wardrobe.  The casual suits and polo shirts portrayed Boyfriend as happy-go-lucky teenagers who have the wealth and fashion of world-famous K-pop idols.  I liked that each outfit was different, giving each member their own style and personality while still fitting in with the concept.  Unfortunately, I didn’t find many of the individual outfits very fashionable.  For example, I didn’t like the Orange-Haired Twin’s suspenders in the park scenes.  They clashed with the jackets and sweaters the other members were wearing and didn’t fit his personal image.  I also didn’t like the patterned shirts hanging out of the patterned sweaters.  Maybe if the patterns were gone the two would go together, but with clashing patterns I thought it looked a bit messy.

Looking at the overall picture, the wardrobe is pretty good, but once I look closely at each individual outfit, there is more for me to dislike than like.

 Score: 3.5/5

Overall, this wasn’t at all my type of video, but I did find myself smiling during a lot of it.  If they had made it more natural, I’m sure I would have been smiling throughout the whole thing.  It was better as far as these types of fun, hanging out videos go, because I feel they really engaged with the audience, but it was still lacking in the true entertainment factor.

Overall Final Score: 3.5/5


Question of the day:

How well do you think Boyfriend pulled off this “cute” concept?

What are your thoughts?

