Tiny G “Minimanimo” Music Video Review

Song

Yes, this could be considered one of those cutesy, aegyo-filled songs that I normally dislike, yet I found myself absolutely loving this song.  The beat was fun to listen to and the lyrics were unbelievably catchy.  I still can’t get the “Minimanimo” refrain out of my head, but I’m not complaining.  Even though it has the classic girl group “cute” concept, it isn’t nauseatingly sweet and smiley like some other videos I’ve seen.  The raps added a funky tone to the song, giving the listener a nice break from the cuteness and added a refreshing hip-hop feel.  It was a really nice mix of pop and light hip-hop.  The fun beat really made me believe the “Everything is gonna be okay” line.  It is the perfect feel-good song and  I could listen to it all day.

Score: 4.5/5

Story

The story to this video was fairly simple.  The four girls of Tiny G are dolls living in a doll house, having fun playing with each other in their little world.  Eventually, they leave the doll house and explore the giant human world.  The video shows each of the girls having fun with the oversized objects.  It was very light-hearted and fit the “MINI-manimo” of the song.

I liked how they start out in the doll house, where everything is proportionate to their size, and then literally go “out of the box” into a world clearly not made for them, and they turn it into something incredibly fun.  The story was not all that complex, but it was coherent and just adorable and fun.

Score: 4.5/5

Cinematography

This appearance of this video was at the perfect stimulation level.  There was lots of color in the video, but it wasn’t overwhelming at all.  The plain white background behind all of the colorful objects made all the right things stand out.  The sets themselves were simple, which reflected the simple life of these dolls that Tiny G play.  The simple setup went along well with the light-hearted song.

There was something a little weird about the scenes with the tiny girls in the giant world.  Everything seemed slightly out of focus when they were around the giant objects.  I’m not sure if this has something to do with the camera, or it was the CGI not working very well, but it made those scenes look fake and took away from the fantasy of seeing these dolls come to life.

Score: 4/5

Wardrobe

I really liked the wardrobe of this video.  The girls of Tiny G act like little kids, which is clearly reflected in their outfits.  Giving each girl a different colored pair of overalls was a cute idea and helps us viewers distinguish the different members of this new group.  I especially liked the black, white, and yellow music note outfits.  I’ve never seen anything like them and they were incredibly fun and funky.  The three types of outfits worn in this video were very fun and fit the characters of Tiny G very well.

There were only a couple things I had problems with.  The hair accessories on a couple of girls in the overalls scenes were a little odd.  Dohee (girl in yellow) had paper scissors attached to one of her ponytails and the J.Min (girl in pink) was wearing what looked like a construction worker’s headlight.  I know they are going for a funky image, but those were too out of the ordinary and looked a bit silly.  I also didn’t like Mint’s (girl in orange) music note outfit.  She looked like she was wearing a onesy, which frankly doesn’t look good on anyone.

As a sidenote, I absolutely loved Mint’s rainbow hair.  It just looked beautiful.  That is an example of rainbow hair done right in K-pop.

Score: 4/5

Dance

As was the rest of the video, the dance was fun and simple.  I was impressed at how every single move fit the beat of the song perfectly.  I found myself unconsciously bobbing my head side to side along with Dohee during her “everything’s gonna be okay” line.  Their choreographer really knows how to coordinate the dance to the beat and rhythm of the song.

I wish the choreography could have been a little more advanced, but a simple song calls for a simple dance, so I guess it all fits in the end.

Score: 4/5

Overall, I am very happy with this video.  It was a perfect example of cutesy done right.  I’m really looking forward to seeing what this new group comes up with next.

Overall Final Score: 4.3/5


Question of the Day:

What do you think of this new group?

One thought on “Tiny G “Minimanimo” Music Video Review

What are your thoughts?

